Wistful

These poems are dedicated to a recent visit I paid to the country of my birth, Ghana with my family. They were written on the plane that brought us back:

Ghana at 56

Wistful

I feel wistful
Memories ebb and flow
Pleasant and unpleasant
The country beats
In my heart and soul
I long for you all
Already
My people
My family
My friends
Even though I am
Only on the verge
Of departure
God bless Ghana
God bless my homeland
Ghana
(8/20/14)

My people

Those who await us
Across the Atlantic
Do so with expectation
Those we leave behind
Once more
Do so with mixed feelings
Our bonds are strong
Whichever place we are
Love of family and friends
Will never leave us
(8/20/14)

In the air

Up on my exalted perch
I see the country
Of my birth
Below
We are leaving
We are leaving
The country
We are leaving
My people
Night has enveloped
The country
Sparks of light shine through
Warmth of the people endures
(8/20/14)

Leave a Reply

