A chicken

Chicken

A Chicken

*Akoko due, due, due due oo
Obi yare a ope akoko ato
That’s it alright

I am a chicken
And my lot is not always
A happy one
I am safe as long as
I am a chick

Men always have varied plans
All the time for me
Every occasion that calls
For a celebration
Brings a threat on my head

I serve other purposes
Which all end with the
Eventual rolling of my poor head
My only consolation is that
I always provide tasty meat
For those who eat my flesh
There’s no indication that
My lot will ever change
So I accept it just like that
(5/16/89)

*Poor, poor chicken. When someone is ill he is looking for chicken to buy(to make soup with it)-Ghanaian folk song

Chicken(meat)

Leave a Reply

